Happy Trails To You! 8

I was talking with one of my American friends today about how life seems to go by so quickly. People who shape our lives come and go such as Steve Jobs. Lifestyles change and there is so much technology around us that everything seems so much more complicated than it used to be. And people seem more negative and less optimistic than before. Maybe I’m just getting old?…

When my American friend and I said goodbye after reminiscing for a while, we wished each other ‘Happy Trails’ a way of saying “Goodbye”, “Take care” and “Good luck”. It took us back to a time when we were growing up out west and how we used to look at the bright side of everything. Our positive outlook got us over many bumps in the road. That’s probably why so many of the old TV series were simple, maybe even a little “corny”, but they were mainstays that we looked forward to watching week after week and that became part of our culture (Bonanza, I Love Lucy, Star Trek, Gilligan’s Island, Laugh In, Bewitched, and the list goes on…). One of those old TV shows from the 50’s was called “The Roy Rogers Show” (you can still watch the re-runs on some channels). It was a kind of family series that was a spin-off of the old Westerns and Roy, with his horse Trigger (“Smartest Horse in the Movies”),  played the role of the “King of the Cowboys” who always saved the day, and Dale Evans, with her horse Buttermilk, was “The Queen of the Cowgirls”, played the role of  his wife (they were actually married in real life). With their dog Bullet they fought against the bad guys or the bandits and each episode of course had a happy end. It took place on the Double R Ranch in California and at the end of each episode they sang this song:

Here are the words if you’d like to sing along with the old 45 rpm record of their ‘hit’ tune:

Lyrics to
“Happy Trails” by Dale Evans Rogers

Happy trails to you, until we meet again.
Happy trails to you, keep smilin’ until then.
Who cares about the clouds when we’re together?
Just sing a song and bring the sunny weather.

Happy trails to you, ’till we meet again! (Repeat)

8 comments

  1. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

  2. I especially like your last paragraph – and I did start a blog – two in fact – just a few months ago! I always write letters to my children at Christmas – sometimes more often, but at least once a year. They know their letters will be in their stockings! Probably wouldn’t do anything you said not to – just a little bit inhibited! But that’s just me. Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

Leave a comment